ExamJet Quiz Maker Blog | August 2015

ExamJet Quiz Maker Blog

ExamJet - Quiz Maker and Test Creator Software


Bloom's Taxonomy and the Cognitive Processes

What is Bloom's Taxonomy?

The story in regards to the cognitive processes began in 1948, when a group of educators embarked on the journey of categorizing educational goals and objectives. Their main area of interest was three domains which needed to be classified. They were: the cognitive, the affective, and the psychomotor. So when the classification was finished and the work came to an end the cognitive domain surfaced in the 1950s and was known as Bloom's Taxonomy of the Cognitive Domain. There were other taxonomies developed in the process as well but by a group of other educators who focused their interest on affective and psychomotor domains.

Before we go any further it is important to know what taxonomy means as it is not every day you hear this word and it may be that most people will never even use this word. The word “taxonomy” simply means a certain way to group things together. For e.g. in biology classes’ Linnaean taxonomy is most renowned where you have a bunch of animals and you can group them according to various characteristics and give them or assign them names. Bloom's taxonomy is somewhat similar to this where three domains were classified as follows:

  • The cognitive – which is a knowledge based domain, comprising of six levels
  • The affective – which is an attitudinal based domain, comprising of five levels, and
  • The psychomotor – which is a skills based domain, comprising of six levels